sheercookery

Mug Cake

In Bake, Dessert, Gluten-free, Oven on December 1, 2015 at 6:30 am

 After my recent relapse, I’ve been hobbling my way towards recovery. I’ve been given a cross, and told to have faith and manage my expectations.

Admittedly, it’s a huge lifestyle shift. I’ve gone from being sturdy and efficient to relearning things that I used to be able to do with my eyes closed. No matter. I’m alive and will continue to fight the good fight.

Moving on to happier things, my favorite kind of indulgence is one that is budget-friendly and easy to make.

  
Combine the following in a huge mixing bowl:

  • ¾ cup of rice flour
  • ½ cup of potato starch
  • ¼ cup of cassava flour
  • ½ cup of raw coconut sugar
  • ½ teaspoon of salt
  • 1½ teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon of coffee powder
  • ½ cup of cocoa chips
  • ½ cup of dairy-free, nut-free and soy-free Enjoy Life™Semi-Sweet Mini Chips melted into 1 tablespoon of warmed up Earth Balance™
  • 1 tablespoon of Made by Max™ Cashew Crunchy Cacao
  • 2 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • 4 tablespoons of almond milk
  • a handful of crushed walnuts
  • ¼ cup of almond milk
  • 1 whole egg
  •   
    Pour in lightly greased mugs and bake in a preheated oven at 150ºC for 25 minutes (or in a microwave oven for 1 minute and 50 seconds at 1000 watts).

      
    Cool and top with strawberry slices. It’s in season now so I got a pack for about P100 at the supermarket.

    Leave a Reply

