sheercookery

Garlic Pink Salmon with Tomato Corn Rice

In Crockpot, Gluten-free on May 11, 2015 at 9:17 pm

  
This should have been posted long ago, but I’ve been busy. The thing about my condition is it has its ups and downs, and I’m making the most of this brief window of bliss that I’m feeling right now. I’m just grateful to be alive.

  
Anyway, some months ago, the supermarket had a seafood sale, and I zoned in on the pink salmon like a hungry brown bear. I just love salmon. My best friend, Kathy, cooked the yummiest pink salmon with mango ensalada, and squash mash when we visited her for lunch a couple of weeks ago. I didn’t have the heart to take my phone out and snap pictures because I felt that it would have ruined the moment, but, boy, was I tempted.

  
Have your local fish monger clean and prepare your salmon so it’s ready for you to cook in the kitchen. I smeared these lovely things with salt and garlic, and sealed the flavor with a very light spray of safflower oil before cooking it in the prata pan. When it’s done, top it with a small sliver of dairy-free, soy-free butter (like Nuttelex). You can also squeeze lemon on it, if you want. 

  
For the tomato and basil corn rice, cook your RiCo™ Corn Rice following the instructions in the package then mix with the sauce.

  
To make the sauce, sautée chopped onions, minced garlic, sliced red bell peppers, and a chili (deseeded) in a tablespoon of sunflower or safflower oil. Crush about 2 or 3 anchovies into the mix. Add chopped tomatoes and basil leaves, plus salt and pepper to taste. If you’re allowed, pop in some black olives and capers.

  1. You should have taken photos!!!! 🙂 hmmmm mango salsa… Yummy!

Leave a Reply

