sheercookery

Bagels

In Bake, Bread, Gluten-free, The Unlikely Cook on May 9, 2010 at 8:10 pm

https://i2.wp.com/farm5.static.flickr.com/4003/4622633643_df2dca4177_o.jpg

Good for two people, and then some…

  • Sift 1 cup of rice flour, 1/2 cup of corn starch, 1/2 cup of potato starch, 1/2 cup tapioca starch with a teaspoon of salt
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together 2 1/2 teaspoons of instant yeast dissolved in a cup of water, 1 1/2 teaspoons of coconut sugar, and 2 tablespoons of sunflower or safflower oil.

Gradually mix the wet and dry ingredients together with your fingers and knead till all the dough is incorporated.

https://i0.wp.com/farm5.static.flickr.com/4072/4623238816_f8c24bd7c0_o.jpg

Directions from John D. Lee:

  1. Knead the dough for about 10 minutes or until it is smooth and elastic, then divide into 8 balls.
  2. Leave it to rest for about 10 to 20 minutes as you preheat your oven to at 170°C.
  3. Roll the dough into logs and press the ends together to form an “o” shape.
  4. Leave to rise for about 20 minutes as you boil a pot of water.
  5. Boil each bagel for about a minute or so.
  6. Drain and place them on a greased sheet and bake for 10 minutes on each side.

(Link to his page: http://bit.ly/41LJiH)

—-

Have a fantastic Mother’s Day!

  1. Mouth-watering!

  2. First attempt? They sure look like you’ve been baking bagels your whole life! I am going to take a swing at your recipe this weekend as I am dying to make some bacon-topped bagels. I tried them a few months ago in San Diego and loved each one of the dozen I took home. Sad, the shop is too far to drive. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Hi,

    I found your blog through the bagel recipe you commented on. I made the bagels once, myself. They didn’t rise. I killed the yeast by adding water that was too hot. They still tasted delicious, though. I’m going to make them again tomorrow.

    Your bagels look absolutely fabulous. Great job!

    Just a heads up, unless given permission to use text exactly as it’s written by the person themselves, or, in the case they were published, by the publisher, you must change the wording of the recipe and directions completely to your own words and head the recipe by saying ‘Recipe courtesy of______ And adapted from ______
    Otherwise you’re infringing copyright laws. Legally, you can’t copy and paste even though the words are on the internet and available to everyone.

    I learned that the hard way and had to go back and re-write the text for every single one of the recipes’ I had on my blog. =/

    Anyhoo, I hope that was helpful. Your photos’ are gorgeous. Happy Cooking.

    • Thanks for the heads-up. I edited my bagel entry accordingly. 🙂

      Aksimet really did it this time, he sent a bunch of legitimate comments to my spam folders. I’m so glad I checked and followed the link to your blog. Your Whipped Chocolate Buttercream Frosting looks absolutely fantastic. I use Hershey’s, too. It’s so easy to work with and doesn’t clump.

      Can’t wait to read the rest of it.
      Have a fantastic week ahead!

Leave a Reply

